Hello :)

Hello everyone! My name is Precious and I am a first year senior here at CU. My name is a little different so a lot of my friends call me Presh. I am born and raised in Colorado and I absolutely love it here. CU was the school on the top of my list and I am glad I am almost at the end of the road. It has been a stressful, exciting and fun adventure. I am taking this class not only because it is one of my last requirements, but also because I love music and need to hone on my writing skills. Writing is definitely a challenge for me, so I am hoping that it will be more enjoyable with such a fun topic.

I found the article “Swing into the Classroom” to be very interesting. I remember having a conversation recently about how things that were considered wrong or crazy back in the day are now acceptable as an every day norm today. Our PG13 movies now have occasional cursing and violence in them today compared to back in the day and the author in this article is explaining how music and things not acceptable in school and in the public are now very normal. The cool thing that I liked about the article though is how the author said why not?! Why not listen to what the kids are listening to now days. Why not expose ourselves to new genres and new kinds of music? It expands our social life in and outside of school along with the way we interact. In the article it was mentioned that only church music would be sung in school and the teachers didn’t know many of their students had talents such as playing the harmonica because they never asked and kept to the same O’ routine and music. Expanding knowledge of different generations of music isn’t a bad thing, but a “pleasure” to the normal person.

2 thoughts on “Hello :)

  1. Hi Precious! I loved your comparison of changing norms in music to the changing norms in movies. It’s so true that things that we as a society accept change from generation to generation. It’s all the more reason to keep an open mind- because we know things are bound to change in the future. I also enjoyed the part about teachers not knowing talents that their students possessed talents (such as harmonica-playing)because of the so-called “double lives” that the students were forced to lead, due to the fact that they were forced to learn a certain curriculum in school. By combining the lives of students outside of and inside of the classroom, students will have more enthusiasm and teachers will learn more about their students. Great post!

    Like

  2. Great to meet you, Precious! I agree with Kim’s comment too– I liked your comparison to movies as well, since it’s another extremely influential form of media and communication in our society. I’ll be curious to see what you think of Levitin’s book!

    Like

Leave a comment