From Emo Kid to Adult

When I was in middle school I heard a song that sounded so amazing to me, and so I bought it on iTunes. My dad heard it and said he thought the lyrics were inappropriate, this only fueled my trying to be rebellious, slightly emo self. Of course I then bought the whole album, the song was “Don’t Trust Me” and the band was 3OH!3. This was how I fell in love with the band.

For years I have loved the band 3OH!3, I listened to them as an emo kid and still do as an adult. I know all of the words to every song and could listen to them on repeat forever. I finally got the chance to see them in concert two years ago, and it was one of the best concerts I have been to. The bang had three opening acts which at the time I found so annoying because I just wanted to see my favorite band. I had never really heard of the opening acts, but recognized one or two songs from each band. Finally 3OH!3 came on and played an amazing set. To close the show they played a song I had never heard before, something I thought was impossible. “Turn the Night On” is a collaboration between 3OH!3 and all of the bands on the tour including The Summer Set, Wallpaper, and New Beat Fund.

They all came out on stage to close the show and it was amazing. It was like there was a party on the stage. The song is about partying and having a great night and the atmosphere on the stage really portrays it. The way they interact with the crowd and each other promotes the friendship and fun that you can find on a night out drinking. The members of each band sing there parts and stay on stage to hype up the nest person. Due to the large amount of singers the sound quality remains intact and ver well put together. The performance as a whole is very fun to watch live, and recorded. It always brings back the memories of how fun that night was.

I hope you can enjoy as much as I do:

Leave a comment