Blog 14

Its crazy to look back at this semester and see how my blog post have evolved and how the rest of my classmates blogs have changed. I think its really cool how I’ve noticed my writing styles changing and getting better over time. I would have to say that I am most proud of my blog about house music. Its a topic that Im passionate about and I think it is one of my finest posts. I really enjoyed writing for an audience because it made me change my style. I was very used to writing for teachers only and I think I developed my own style when I realized I was going to be presenting to an audience. I also think I got better at commenting on other peoples work. In the beginning it was very generic posts that I was posting but near the end I think I was going way more in depth. Some things Ive noticed that I would want to change are how I begin and end my posts and comments. I realized that I began almost every post the same way and I ended every comment in the same way. I think that I would like to change this in the future. I do believe that I got to know my classmates even though we never met face to face. I started to recognize patterns of their posts and writing styles and I think that is a pretty cool feature of the class. The big thing I took out of the auditory/visual context is that, in music, its not only what you hear, but what you see has a lot to do with music. This is especially important in music video and live performances and concerts. Its all about how the show is brought together and I think it was a really cool unit. Overall I really enjoyed this course and I would for sure recommend it to my peers.

4 thoughts on “Blog 14

  1. Thanks for your post! I enjoyed your observations about your own writing when you said you noticed how your writing changed when you were writing for an audience instead of only teachers. I had the same experience and I really enjoyed it! It felt as if I had more access to my creativity and my own voice because I wanted to connect to people more through what I had to say instead of just getting an assignment finished on time. I think it allowed us to think more broadly about how we want to say something in a way that is not purely academic but more journalistic. Great post, I enjoyed reading it!

    Like

  2. Its awesome that you started to learn more about your own style of writing and what you need to improve upon. I think everyone in the class has definitely improved their writing. I have managed to express my thoughts more explicitly and quickly, instead of slowly rewriting sentence by sentence. I love how you brought up that music is just as much about the visual stimulation as well as auditory. I go to a lot of live performances and can say without a doubt that live music shows would not be the same without the lights and the showmanship. Thanks for all your posts over the semester!

    Like

  3. Chase,
    I completely agree with you when you say that you learned a lot about yourself in the class. I agree, it was nice to be able to communicate with all of our classmates to see what page everybody was on. I enjoyed reading all of your posts and I felt that you and I shared a lot of the same feelings. It was nice getting to know everybody in this class. Great post my man!

    Like

  4. I really liked this post because I feel the same way, I really enjoy writing for an audience rather then academically for a teacher because it gives you more freedom to be yourself and let your voice shine through the words. I wish that we could have more blog posts but I’m also glad that this means I, and the rest of you are one step closer to graduating and being able to go off and pursue our dreams. I hope that life plays you a strong hand of cards sir and have a great end of your semester!

    Like

Leave a comment