This Is Your Brain On Music

In the readings, Levitin pointed out that nobody is truly non-musical, because everyone can enjoy a CD, hum happy birthday or even tap their feet. I really enjoyed this paragraph in the book because it made me ecstatic to think that all of people can enjoy music in their lives no matter what. This book demonstrated a ton how music plays a huge role in our lives and how it really works to benefit us. It really surprised me how this book was like a big dissection of music perception. The book started off kind of slow but then it worked up to a masterpiece at the end after piecing all of the puzzle together. Parts that stuck to me were the songs that he talked about, a lot of the songs were like a British pop type that were pretty interesting to look up and see the different kinds of music out there because there is so many options to take part in when picking music.
A lot of the terminology that Levitin used had not passed my mind before but a couple of them did and it was good to catch back up on those and even learn the new ones that were presented in the readings. It covered topics such as timbre, rhythm, pitch, harmony and many others that really helped my music understanding that much more. I liked this book a lot because it really did give me a better understanding of not just the music terminology but what it does for the rest of the world. It helps to learn, focus and play a huge role in our lives while making a gigantic impact. I’ve always wondered what life would be without music or sound and after reading this I definitely do not want to. Levitin describes how we can use music to make people better and help their lives. I would say the point to make from this book is to see the recent findings in of music put to use and see what we could get out of it. I really did like this book and I will definitely recommend it to another music advocate.

2 thoughts on “This Is Your Brain On Music

  1. Hi Zack,
    Thanks for your post! I agree with you that Levitin’s argument about everybody being musical was well put. He explained his point of view in a way that made sense and also I think cut out some of the silly ‘this person is musical but this person is not’ rhetoric that is around. I liked the way you described This Is Your Brain On Music as a “big dissection of music perception”. That’s exactly what it is and it is definitely fascinating to learn how music perception is so intricately involved with our brain activity. We are so lucky to have the perceptions and ability to appreciate music that we do and also so much access to many different forms of music!

    Like

  2. Hi Zach! Great post! It’s a scary thought if we were to live in a world with no music! I agree that it’s crazy to think about how much music is incorporated into our lives. When Levitin discusses the various places (stores, background music on hold, etc.) it was something I had never thought about. I agree that the book was off to a slow start with all the terminology but it became more interesting the further I read. I truly believe that music has power, and it’s incredible to read how it connects us all!

    Like

Leave a comment