Taking Up All My Time

My guilty pleasure is definitely “Take Your Time” by Sam Hunt. I know many people, including my whole family, dislike this song.  For some reason I happen to love it. The way Hunt’s voice sounds in the song really drew me in. I love the combination of almost talking the verses and then singing the chorus. It reminds me of a vintage feel something similar to Johnny Cash, although I know no one could be as great as Johnny. The gravely deep voice, the slow but not too slow tempo, and the way it can get stuck in your head all day, really drew me in.

Then I listened to the lyrics. I mean really listened. Sometimes I sing along to a song with out even thinking about what I’m singing. Then I realize I am not singing a love song, I’m singing a very long pick-up line. It is pretty much the exact opposite of romantic. This is probably the main reason many people do not like this song. The song basically is Hunt asking to have a one night stand with this girl. Which I guess could be romantic to some people. I do enjoy some of the lyrics, when they aren’t pretty much blatantly asking her to just have sex with him, and never talk again. The video does confuse me on the exact meaning of the lyrics, I think Hunt tried to give them more than one meaning but the general meaning is pretty hard to overlook.

I can understand why people don’t like this song, and I can’t even pinpoint why I like it. It is overplayed. It is not the kind of song that typically resonates with me. I think the only redeeming thing about this song is the way it sounds, the way it is sang and produced. Hunt himself makes the song. His voice and style are what really draw me in every time and stop me from hitting skip.

For your listening pleasure (or pain I don’t know whatever floats your boat):

3 thoughts on “Taking Up All My Time

  1. I had never herd this song before and even at first listen I can see why you would like it. It’s catchy. His chorus is smart and like you said in your post he gives the lyrics double meanings at times, which I really like. I don’t like how he chooses to sing the verses, that’s my beef with it, but he does have a really nice voice that breaks todays pop country mold. Like Cash, you can hear his emotion in his voice and that for me is key to a good country tone.

    Like

  2. Although I’m not a huge fan of this genre, I can definitely understand the draw of this song. Hunt’s style is really different from other country-pop songs that I’ve heard and it does distinguish him. I, too, was a little confused on how the music video tied-in with the song, but I honestly enjoyed watching it; It was intriguing! Nice post!

    Like

  3. I’m not usually a country fan at all but I really like this song too!! Definitely a guilty pleasure. I love the talky-nature of some of the lyrics, it makes it feel really authentic and truthful. The lyrics are also awesome (and adorable), they go along with the generally catchy-ness of the song. I wish a guy would sing ME this song! lol

    Like

Leave a comment