Thank You for a Great Semester

I am so glad that I decided to take this course this semester. When I first signed up, I really did not expect the class to be anything like this Writing and posting these blogs has been pretty therapeutic for me all year. It’s been a nice break from the everyday work that I am not so passionate about, but tends to consume my time. I felt challenged by each new post to share something with the class that few people might listen to or think about. I loved being able to share new music with everyone and loved reading what everyone else’s thoughts and tastes in music were. At first I was not so comfortable in expressing my thoughts and opinions, but this class has only been supportive of all my writing and made me feel as if my words were enjoyable to read. I do feel as if I know the class in a way. Some of us have really opened up on our posts and shared deep and powerful words, I thank everyone for doing so. It has given me a lot of confidence and honestly made me consider writing on music as a hobby or even a job to pursue in the future. Music can be one of the most influential things in the world, and sometimes someone to guide you through a piece or video can be essential in you truly understanding it. I would have to say that my post on the music video “Blacktivist” by the Flatbush Zombies had to be my favorite. This blog was a great place for me to share that video with others, I really felt it needed to be seen by everyone, especially those who had never before herd their music. I feel like my ability to flow words on a page together has dramatically increased. Writing about the stuff I love has made it so much easier to express my opinions and stances. I want to say thanks to our professor Alaina for creating a class that encourages passion and community and I want to thank all of you for treating it the way you did. It made for an awesome experience.
Here’s a last video of an artist I’ve fallen in love with over the past year that opened me up to a whole new world of music Sturgill Simpson

Leave a comment