My Brain on Music Post 5

I have taken many different music courses in my academic career that have really given me a strong foundation in music. Each course has brought the same basics into their material like understanding what rhythm is and what scales are, but this book has really dug deeper into the true science of music and its effect on the brain. I have really enjoyed learning this from such a different perspective of music and honestly never thought of the effect music has on our brains. It is really interesting to read how complex it really is in our brains to listen and process music. I also really enjoy all of his examples he provides to help explain his statements. One that I really like is when he is talking about gap fills in melodies and compares “Somewhere over the Rainbow” to “Roxanne” by the Police. I can instantly hear exactly what he is talking about in my head without even re listening to those songs because that gap fill is really what makes both melodies so incredible. I do feel slightly overwhelmed by some of the text at times and get lost in long examples, but over all I enjoy reading this book and it has certainly not lost my attention. It is really cool to see that music is one of the most complex things our minds can work out and create.

3 thoughts on “My Brain on Music Post 5

  1. I completely agree! This book has definitely made the scientific side of music easier to understand. It’s something I hadn’t thought about before, but truly understanding how our brains process music is incredible! I agree that the gap fill makes both “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” and “Roxanne” so memorable. There was definitely complex parts of the book that I feel would be better learned with sound but overall he did a great job at breaking down our brains on music!

    Like

  2. As someone who has a hard time understanding complex science I also loved the way the book explained all of the science behind why we enjoy music and how music is processed in the brain. It did it in such an understandable way that really changed my perspective on a lot of things. I also really enjoyed the way he explained the gap fill. I really enjoyed this book too!

    Like

  3. I’m glad that I wasn’t the only one getting lost in the long-worded examples. I am really enjoying the book as well. The way our mind fills in gaps was one of my favorite parts as well. It is amazing what our brains are able to process and do in fractions of a second. A very informative read. Good post!

    Like

Leave a comment