I Get a Good Feelin’…. (Blog #4)

“Good Feelin’” by Flo Rida. I think we are all pretty sick of hearing this song after all the hype it got over the years, and the remixes that go with it. It is definitely my guilty pleasure. In three of my earlier years of college I was in a co-ed A Cappella group here at CU called Extreme Measures, and this was one of the songs we sang for a while. We arranged it when the song first came out before it had gotten too annoying to hear anymore. After singing and performing it for a semester or two we realized how much we sort of hated it, but it was still a blast to sing so we kept it in our repertoire. My best friend (this tiny, little blonde girl) sang the rap parts for the song, so now I just think it’s hilarious when I listen to the original. One semester we competed in an A Cappella competition in Denver and we had to create choreography to this song to perform it for the judges. It was absolutely hilarious getting the group to dance and do these corny moves on stage. I can’t listen to the song without picturing all of this. I think the song is fun and can really pump you up! It always puts me in a good mood when I listen to or sing it. It was always a crowd pleaser when we performed this one. I think the song it totally dumb, and so repetitive, but for all of these reasons I still like it. Sorry not sorry.

If anyone wants to hear my A Cappella group’s version of it off of our album here it is on iTunes!! Last track, #11! Maybe this version will change your minds about the song! 🙂

1 thought on “I Get a Good Feelin’…. (Blog #4)

  1. Wow! I love this song too!! I think the Etta James vocals in the beginning are beautiful and so moving. Her vocal range and power are incredible and I respect Flo Rider for using her talent and giving her writing credit for this song due to using her words. I also just like the tempo and rhythm of this song. It is upbeat, fun, and put together very well. I agree that even though this song has been played again and again for the last several years I always really enjoy hearing it and I’m glad that is has retained the popularity it has.
    By the way I listened to your A Cappella of this and really enjoyed it, good job!

    Like

Leave a comment