Last One – Blog 14

Looking back over my blogs from the last few months has been a fun introspective project for me. Reading over what I have written I have noticed that I write differently than I speak, that is, my opinions and views are stronger when written than when spoken. I’m not sure why that is but when I reread my words I find that while I always agree with myself (haha!) I tend to go a little further with my view than if I was just having a conversation with someone. I don’t particularly mind this. On the one hand it makes for more interesting writing and also it suggests to me that during the process of writing I get very invested in what I’m saying and so I end up stating it stronger than I otherwise would have.

I’ve overall really enjoyed being in a community of writers. It is slightly embarrassing but every time somebody “liked” one of my posts or responses I felt slightly elated which I would not expect from a university writing course, I guess I never realized that I enjoy writing for others. Also, one of the really big benefits was the exposure to new music and musicians or a different perspective on a song or musician that made me revisit it with fresh ears.

Probably my biggest lesson that I’ve learned is that flow is so important when writing. To be able to communicate in a way that is cohesive, makes sense to people, and is natural and easy to follow is more difficult than I realized. I think one of the main strengths of effective rhetoric is making it easy to digest so it feels natural to agree and assimilate into ones own thinking. When rereading my own work there have been times I feel like I’ve been able to accomplish this and times when I have no idea what I was actually trying to say. Whether I will continue to blog I don’t know but this has been a fun, informative way to move through this process.

2 thoughts on “Last One – Blog 14

  1. Ella, I could not agree more with your opening statement. Its so cool to look back on our first posts of the semester and see how our writing styles and personal writing styles have changed. I think it was a great way to track our progress. I agree with you that it was nice to be in a community of writers because it was a nice change of pace and didn’t just make us focus on writing for one teacher. I thought the class was really fun and I hope you learned as much as I did. Great final post!

    Like

  2. I thought this post was super interesting because I have always felt the opposite, that i am a much more passionate speaker then writer but I guess that is just one of many things that make everyone different. I really enjoyed reading your post though and it is a shame it is the last one I will read but I hope everything goes good for you in life, that you keep writing, and have a great end of your semester!

    Like

Leave a comment