Pitbull is Not For Me (Blog Post 8)

I really hate to dog on the post about Pitbull  (no pun intended) by Jasmine, but I really just can’t get behind his music. I’m a huge fan of hip-hop and rap and artists like Pitbull really just bother me. I think his music is just very unoriginal. I know that people love mash ups and remixes, but I’m getting a little bit bored with them. I don’t really enjoy the “Back in Time” song by him. I think it’s repetitive and boring. I think the beats are really predictable and repetitive, and I bet my friend that “dJs” in his free time could produce them on his laptop very easily. I just enjoy rap and hip-hop that has a little bit more creativity to it. Don’t get me wrong, I would go to the club and dance my butt off to this song, but I can’t really enjoy it otherwise. I connect to songs through their lyrics and instrumentals but I really don’t experience any of this in his music. I think his lyrics are very surface and don’t have much meaning. I can see why people like his catchy, popular sound that everyone is producing these days, but I really just can’t agree with Jasmine about how great he is, and how his collaborations are what makes him awesome. I just have to disagree!

3 thoughts on “Pitbull is Not For Me (Blog Post 8)

  1. Amanda, I could not agree with you more. I also posted about Pitbull and I agree with you, I just can’t seem to follow his music. I understand that he is just a pop and club music type of guy but its all just really bad in my eyes. I think that there is always a time and place for every music but I really don’t see one for Pitbull. I like how you mention that all of his music is repetitive and predictable. I would say the same. he only sings about the same stuff and after a while it gets really boring. Overall I could not agree more! great post! i thought the pun was pretty funny too!

    Like

  2. I too am a huge fan of hip hop and I couldn’t agree with you more on your stance with Pitbull. I brought up in my post that his music lacks what I believe makes a true hip hop artist. His focus is solely on the party, not any issues or realities of the world. There is always a time to party and loose yourself in music, but to be considered one of the greatest rappers your content has to be filled with emotion and truth. Most rappers on the radio today rap about stuff they don’t have or things they have never done. I consider Pitbull a pop artist, not even close to an M.C. in my eyes.

    Like

  3. Amanda, I could write a novel about my discontent with Pitbull and everything he stands for. With that being the case, I cannot agree with you more. His music is incredibly shallow which is one thing, but for it to sound bad too, that is just adding insult to injury. This guy needs to expand his creativity and go in another direction. Unfortunately, the money talks and i’m afraid Pitbull has already sold his soul. Great post!

    Like

Leave a comment