Copy Cat & Mau5 (Blog Entry 7)

Deadmau5 (pronounced “dead-mouse”) has been one of my favorite DJs for a long time so it was easy for me to pick another song based off of Joseph’s post on “Strobe.” I chose “Ghosts & Stuff” because it is a song that I can play over and over and never get tired of. Deadmau5 has A LOT of incredible songs but this is my all time favorite. I’ve seen him in concert more times than I can count and randomly went bowling with him and a group of friends years back when he was performing in Denver. I agree with Joseph that Deadmau5’s songs are different than the typical progressive house music you hear. He does an incredible job building you up throughout his music with an amazing beats that you can’t help but want to dance to!

I love the way Deadmau5 incorporates Rob Swire’s vocals into the song. The lack of bass and layered vocals at 1:57 leading up to the bass drop is my favorite part. As Joseph said in his post, Deadmau5 is a modern day composer and his music is certainly uplifting! He may not be composing music in the classical sense but his ability to put different electronic sounds together and create such amazing songs is fascinating. I appreciate his music because he works hard to create beats that nobody else is doing. Yes, some EDM songs can all sound the same but that is not the case with Deadmau5. Even his music is constantly evolving and never the same. Whether they are solo songs are collaborations, Deadmau5 is always dropping incredible beats!

3 thoughts on “Copy Cat & Mau5 (Blog Entry 7)

  1. I don’t know much of Deadmau5’s music, but I do know this song and I actually really like it despite not being an EDM fan really at all. The Nero remix of this song was used in the intro to a really epic snowboard movie called Art Of Flight that some of you may have seen. Here’s that version https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SG2doHG91s Both of these versions of this song are really cool, and used in the movie it’s perfect for building intensity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cassandra, Im really glad you posted about this song because I am a big fan of Deadmau5. I posted on JPs post last week about it so it makes it even better that you dd because I can talk about it this week also. I think that Ghosts and Stuff has got to be one of his more famous songs and it is probably one of my favorite by him. The energy from the song is amazing and I think my favorite part about it is the pulsing chords that just bring the song to life. I haven’t noticed a lot of people posting about EDM songs in this class very often so its a nice change of pace to talk about a genre that I really enjoy. I think your post sums it up pretty well about ghosts and stuff and how it has a lot of heavy bass that really identifies what the song is.I like how you mention that his songs are different from other house songs and it really made me think about that. I think you’re right and I think its just that he has his own style of house music. Overall great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post Cassandra! I love how you were able to reference my post from last week. It is nice to see so many classmates sharing the same taste in music with me. There is no doubt about it that Deadmau5 is one of the more groundbreaking artists in the EDM industry, and his music clearly shows just that. This song is one of my favorites by the way! It completely slipped my mind when I was writing my post about “Strobe”. Rob Swire’s vocals compliment Deadmau5’s keys in an enchanting way!

    Like

Leave a comment