Tunes and a Resume

Upon last week’s assignment of creating a rough draft for a resume I was a bit unsure of the components that go into a quality resume. Given the fact that you are selling yourself as a potential employee of whatever job you are seeking, it is important to make sure that the presentation of your resume catches the employer’s eye with your skills, qualities, accomplishments, and a catchy layout.

To make sure I knew what a quality resume looks like, I googled “resume examples” and found a lot of good looking resumes. However, there was particular resume that caught my eye (http://amouee.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/resume-examples-ozxipdtf.png). This resume’s bright red text shot out at me, catching my attention very quickly. It was very well organized, with his name in bright red and his last name in a bolder red font which I thought was smart because it draws more attention the last name. Under that came his contact information, which I agree was a smart move to put under his name. Following this came a short summary about himself and then his accomplishments, experience, and education. Furthermore, I believe this man did a great job of putting everything on the table in a fashion that could be communicated and understood in an organized fashion in any given context. In other words, it was straight to the point. I also believe he did an excellent job of spicing up the resume with attractive colors and bold font, which would allow the employer to double-take or think twice about his intent.
On another note, I am currently not listening to any music, but if I had to choose a type of music that I usually listen to while doing work, it would definitely be something upbeat. This way, my mind is stimulated by music that promotes productivity, or something that “hypes me up”. Usually this would be a rock, rap, or EDM song that would keep me working rather than a chill song that could potentially put me to sleep instead of keeping me productive.

 

2 thoughts on “Tunes and a Resume

  1. I really like the resume, it’s clean and fitting. But when it comes to music I can’t listen to rap or rock because it’s so up tempo that it makes me want to rush through work or pushes me off task. I think it’s cool to see a different person’s view on music and how they accomplish their goals.

    Like

  2. That resume is pleasing to the eye and draws attention to all the right places. I like the use of color a lot. I prefer to listen to music with no words so rap or rock would be tough for me. Perhaps I will try some EDM that has little words!

    Like

Leave a comment