Blog Post 9-Hotline Bling

I think that the music video has been one of the coolest innovations in music in a long time. It gave the music an identity that people could not get from just listening to the songs. I have chose Hotline Bling by Drake as the video I want to direct because to me its an anomaly. The video features a hit song by Drake that I personally really enjoyed until I saw the music video. The song itself is very emotional and talks about a girl that Drake had previous relations with that has left the city they lived in and how their lives have changed since this happened.  In the video, Drake is seen performing some awkward dance moves in what looks like a cube shaped room that changes colors. Drake himself switches outfits multiple times and they all look a little nerdy in my opinion. I don’t know if this was what he was looking for but it is a little deviant in terms of his other music videos. I would have to say that in terms of the song itself the video was not really effective in getting the message across. The song is very sexual and talks about a scandalous phone call and in the video, the main scene is a cube shaped box with only draw in it. To me that doesn’t really fulfill the mood I was looking for. The only thing that I saw that was relative to the song was the colors that were seen in the cube. There were a lot of deep blues and soft pinks that in a weird way set the mood for the song. I don’t really see this song selling anything except maybe the idea that Drake is getting a little more abstract in his musical style. I would say that the video was a let down in my opinion but in the grand scheme of things I don’t think it will really matter. Drake will still be popular world wide despite his weird music video.

4 thoughts on “Blog Post 9-Hotline Bling

  1. Everyone in the media sure seems to share your opinion that Drake didn’t quite deliver in this music video. I was watching The Daily Show last night and Trevor Noah made a joke about how mixed race guys have been trying for a very long time to affirm that they can dance just as well as how (stereotypically) black guys can, and with one video Drake went and ruined it. Also there are a lot of parody videos with the song and funny dancing showing up on social media, like this super funny one from Bob’s Burgers https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYPm05LA5ow. Good overall critique.

    Like

  2. I also like this song less after watching the music video! I think that him being in that cube is really irrelevant. It seems as though he is attempting to be iconic, although the dancing is pretty funny I have to admit. I still like the song, I just wish he had done something more relevant to the sadness expressed in the song. Nice post!
    Anna

    Like

  3. This video has become one of the funniest things of the year to me. I honestly have no idea what Drake or anyone around him making the video was thinking. It absolutely does nothing but highlight his inability to dance. The amount of memes that haves come from this is incredible, if you havnt seen many you have to check them out.

    Like

  4. This music video is hilarious! Love how you chose it Chase, I was waiting for someone to choose it. This song is actually a big time hit. I agree with your statement about how this song would be a hit regardless of the music video. Its true, everybody loves Drake!

    Like

Leave a comment