Oozing Angst, Lacking Talent

The song that I have to agreed to disagree with was posted by Anna Shoemaker. In her sixth blog post, she wrote about the “pop” song “You Oughta Know” by Alanis Morissette. It’s not that the song is really bad, it is actually decent once it picks up tempo and goes into the chorus but the timbre of this woman’s voice makes my skin crawl. Something about the sound of those first opening words ruin the entire song for me. First of all, I have to disagree with the catagorization of this song as “pop” music. This song was actually Morissette’s first rock song after her transition from performing pop music. Secondly, I have to disagree that this song has transcended generations in any sense. It was made twenty years ago and our generation has already forgotten all about Morissette, replacing her with thousands of new artists who have released a plethora of break-up songs in the last few years alone. Luckily the amount of angst has been toned down in music today and the amount of soul has been increased drastically. Lastly, even thought this song song isn’t pop, it is definitely ephemeral.

3 thoughts on “Oozing Angst, Lacking Talent

  1. All these posts are hilarious! I can see why the timbre of her voice is off putting to some, and I also agree that this song is more in the rock genre than pop. I think the angst of this song is due to the time period that it was released in, when angry music was increasingly popular. It may not “transcend generations,” but it’s certainly a classic in my opinion.

    Like

  2. I agree with your disagreement! I’m not a huge fan of Morrissette’s… I find her to be really too angry (and for what reason??) and hard to listen to. I don’t mind anger/angst in music, I think that it can actually be the motivator of a lot of great art, but it doesn’t work for her in my opinion. I know she was super popular back in the 90s, which is probably why Anna categorized her music as pop music. I don’t like her, but she definitely was a defining artist a few decades ago.

    Like

  3. Nice post!! I totally have to agree with some of what you’re saying here. Her voice also makes me cringe. I don’t understand her sound and I really don’t enjoy her tone and the quality of her voice. The music is way too angsty for me to enjoy these days. It definitely doesn’t transcend generations. I can name like 3 songs she sang and the rest are forgotten.

    Like

Leave a comment