Marketing Manager Resume (#13)

I chose to review and analyse an example resume of a Marketing Manager. Click the link below to see the resume.

http://www.super-resume.com/ResumeBuilder.jtp?query=Marketing+Manager

This example resume definitely gets the job done, but it seems to be a tad bland and boring. There is not much that catches the eyes besides the headlines of each section. There is room for some individuality to be included but a certain level of professionalism is achieved without it.There were a few things that really impressed me. In the “summary” section, he sells himself and displays some of his drive, instead of describing himself in the “special skills” section. In there, he only included legitimate skills that he has acquired on the job. I was always taught that you should sell yourself in the skills section, but this resume does a really job job of selling the guy in only a few sentences, and then sprinkling some legitimate skills on top at the end. Another thing that impressed me was the extensiveness of his job history, without a single break in between jobs. The resume is very effective at achieving its goal of selling the marketing manager to the firm where he is applying. I think that it could be arranged a little differently but all in all, it is very well written. It speaks to the sociocultural expectations of businessmen and managers to be very responsible, organized, impressive, and kind of bland.

While I was writing this blog post I was listening to The Motet’s Halloween 2014 live recording on sound cloud. I don’t usually listen to music while doing my assignments but I figured I should give it a try for this post. I choose The Motet because they are one of my favorite bands and I wanted to relive the show I attended last year. I think this music is not very conductive to learning but very much so to just working. Having a good beat to bob your head to and listen to in the background helps the ideas flow sometimes but too many lyrics or too high energy may get distracting.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Marketing Manager Resume (#13)

  1. Thanks for your post. This resume was very impressive looking and I agree with you that the summary does a good job of selling its author in only a few sentences. All of the information that this person included was very relevant but the resume seems a bit long and I wonder if that would work against him/her in certain situations? The layout was clean, professional, and organized, if not a bit boring like you suggest. All in all this resume meets the expectations that we as a society create as far as being proficient and professional. Lastly, I liked your choice music! Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you and Ella that this resume is a good one but I also agree that it is a little boring. I think its hard to find a good resume with a balance of traditional elements and creativity. I think the main issue is that people are too invested in writing what they can do and what achievements they have done instead of showing who they really are. I found your choice of study music very interesting. I have never heard of anyone listening to a live recording of music while studying but Ill have to try it. I really liked the set and I might have to put it in my own study music collection. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agreed with everything you said from the blandness of the resume, to the dopeness of the motet. It seems like as long as you like the music, and you’ve heard it before you can basically get away with listening to anything while you do work. I feel like the only time I can’t is when I hear a song I really like but i’ve never heard it before so I become distracted.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Like you said, this resume is bland and lacks creativity, something that a marketing manager should probably have! The resume definitely gets the point across, and the applicant seems to have extensive experience, but the resume is long and repetitive. An employer reading this is most likely not going to read every bullet point on this thing. I think if the applicant streamlined his resume a little bit, it would go a long way! Nice post.

    Like

Leave a comment