10

The movie “Like Crazy” is a heartbreaking movie about Anna and Jacob who meet  and fall in love at college in California only to be separated because Anna is from England and her student visa runs out. This movie has a notoriously beautiful soundtrack, filled with songs from composer Dustin O’Halloran, Paul Simon, and many more. In the scene below, Anna has returned to England and Jacob is calling her for the first time in a while. At first the only music is that of her ringtone, which breaks the silence of her quiet bedroom. This silence is then juxtaposed with the noisiness of the Los Angeles streets where Jacob stands. Here, not even through music, but noise are we signified of the time difference and just the silent pain that this couple is experiencing. After they awkwardly hang up, Anna calls back. Upon him calling back, a light piano begins and then intensifies as her light sobs turn a bit hysterical, and then he begins to cry as well. She asks “Want to come over?”, and he says “yes, see you in half an hour” even though this is virtually impossible considering she lives in a different country. Starting out this scene without music really draws attention to the light music that does eventually come in and seriously tugs at the heartstrings.

Watch the clip below if you want to cry!

3 thoughts on “10

  1. I got chills when I saw this post. This movie made me sob when I saw it in theaters. I actually haven’t seen it since. Totally didn’t realize that she is the woman in “Theory of Everything”. Anyways! The music in this movie is incredible. It is beautiful and romantic and sad at the same time. This scene kills me with it’s soft piano. It totally adds to the vibe of the movie and scene. Great choice! I would go back and watch this movie again, but I don’t think I could handle it! </3

    Like

  2. This sounds like a interesting movie! I like how even thought I’ve never seen the movie I can follow you and what is going on in the scene because you worded it so well. The song does add to the scene and the emotion behind it. Great job!

    Like

  3. I’ve never seen this movie, but it’s now on my to-watch list. Like you said, the noises of the scene played a huge part in adding to the emotion. It also created distance between the two characters through the silence of the girl’s bedroom and the noise of the city where the boy was. Nice post!

    Like

Leave a comment