Kendrick on Colbert

I decided to write about a performance I saw on television a few weeks ago of Kendrick Lamar on the new Stephen Colbert show. I have seen many live performances in my life and this one truly blew me away. Usually on a late night show artists just play their new single to promote new material, but Kendrick Lamar had a different approach. He choose to make a medley of tracks of his new album “To Pimp a Butterfly” creating on of the best live performances I have ever seen on late night television. The lighting is very shadow heavy as he starts the set with some of his spoken poetry that brings the crowd into a solemn peacefulness that blasts into “Wesley’s Theory”. He has a full band behind him accenting every syllable along with Kendrick. When I see hip hop performed with a live band I have so much more respect for the artist. It adds so much to the experience when you can see how these beats are created and being performed with human emotion. Kendrick blends “Wesley’s Theory” straight into “Momma” a track with timing that is very hard to execute live. Kendrick’s motions are so full of emotion. His stare into the crowd never changes it is as if he is looking directly into the soul of America.

Kendrick’s band directly interacts with him “K-Dot, Somethins on my min, I think it’s about that time, put a little pimpin in my pocket!” and they blast into his hit King Kunta, a funk driven track that instantly puts the energy back in the crowds feet. I love this version of the song with the live band behind Kendrick. The band just gives the piece so much more energy and Kendrick ends the song with loud screams leading into the heavy “U”. Kendrick brings the crowd back into reality and breaks down the lyrics of “U” making sure every word is herd and understood. This song just continues to build up and up as Kendrick just about loses his mind screaming “Loving you is complicated! Loving you is complicated!”. The band breaks it down and the performance is over. Although Kendricks performance is only around 6 minutes, this is huge for late night television and certainly one of the best hip hop performances of all time.

5 thoughts on “Kendrick on Colbert

  1. Richard, I think its really cool that you chose a clip from a late night TV show. I don’t know too much about Kendrick Lamar but the songs I have heard I really enjoy. I like how you mention that most artists on shows like this just play new material but he was different. This makes me want to learn more about him because this is a really cool concept. I like how he chose to switch it up and just rap different lines from different tracks all in one song and its also incredible how his band stays right with him. I think Im going to look a lot more into this artist. Great post!

    Like

  2. It was a good idea to write on a live performance that isn’t a concert. I think this is especially cool because it is such a controlled environment being in a studio rather then out in the open at an outdoor concert arena-much more intimate this way. Cool post! and i love the song!

    Like

  3. Great performance clip! Kendrick Lamar is incredibly talented and this performance clearly shows just that. I agree that having a live band paired with a hip hop artist adds so much to the experience. Since most hip hop songs are not played with live bands, this performance gives the listeners a lot more to take in and appreciate. I respect hip hop artists that can put on amazing live performances because it’s not as easy to rap eloquently and Lamar does it flawlessly! Awesome pick!

    Like

  4. Kendrick is one of the best artists of all time in my opinion. Every writing assignment I wish I could write of him but for obvious reasons. This new album he came out with is straight fire. The story that he entails in his music is awesome and even on live stage he is great with no auto tuning necessary and he is an enjoyment to watch. I love Kendrick and his music so i’m glad you chose him for us to listen to, great post!

    Like

  5. Great video! Kendrick killed this performance and it was clearly an emotional one and I feel it is one of the best live videos that exist to date. It is sad to see that he probably won’t be performing from To Pimp a Butterfly ever again but the fact that he did this was amazing and I think it was a toast to all true Hip Hop fans out there that Hip Hop is alive and well and even has some heavy hitters that are comparable to the true greats. Thanks for the post great to see that we have some real Hip Hop heads right here in this class

    Like

Leave a comment