Office Gangster (Blog Entry 10)

Music and movies are two of my favorite things, so I was super excited to write about this week’s post! There are some songs that truly make the scene in a movie, “Damn It Feels Good To Be Gangster” by Geto Boys from Office Space (1999) is definitely one of those songs. If you have been living under a rock and haven’t seen Office Space, it’s about a guy named Peter Gibbons, who is miserable and absolutely hates his job at a software company called Initech. He tried hypnotherapy to change his outlook and the therapist died in the middle of the session. This song plays after his hypnotherapy incident. Peter’s attitude has shifted and he starts to do as he pleases, enjoying every moment.

From parking in a reserved spot, wearing flip-flops, removing door handles and cube walls, tearing down signs, skipping work to go fishing and then gutting the fish on those dreaded TPS reports, I feel the song captures his emotions perfectly. The first line of the song, “Damn it feels good to be a gangsta,” might as well be Peter’s motto. He doesn’t care what his bosses think, he is living how he wants to live.

Office Space has a handful of great hip hop scenes. “Damn It Feels Good To Be Gangster” is my favorite but I have to post the fax machine scene as well with “Still,” by Geto Boys. This scene comes shortly after both of Peter’s friends find out they are getting fired due to downsizing. The juxtaposition with both songs is that they are white collar office employees, not living in the ghetto or actually killing anyone. Instead, they are “killing” a fax machine that they all hate so much. I love how they’re all dancing afterwards, it’s as if they are listening to the song themselves. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Office Gangster (Blog Entry 10)

  1. Hi Cassandra,
    Thanks for your post! I agree that it’s hilarious that these song choices go with such white collar office scenes. I have never seen this movie before but the humor that is displayed in the two scenes you show makes me really want to see it now. I think the song choices paired with the action in the scene really reflect a kind of dark ironic humor and I’m not sure if the rest of the movie is like that but it works so well to give off the “I don’t give a f***” attitude of the main character. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cassandra, Im so pumped that you posted about office space. It is one of my favorite movies and Im also a bug fan of old school hip hop so this is a perfect fit. Damn It Feels Good To Be A Gangster has got to be the best song from this movie and in my opinion the scene where it plays is hilarious. I think its so funny that they played that song for the nerdiest guys on the planet but it actually really fits them. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post!! I love this movie. What a good choice. I really liked your points on the hilariousness of these scenes. They don’t actually live in the ghetto, and they aren’t actually killing anyone. I also really liked how you pointed out fact that they are dancing in the end as if they were dancing to the music. I think that is a really interesting thing that the director did. I like the continuation of this scene and how the music follows into the next. Nice job! Thanks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This song was an amazing choice for this blog post. The movie Office Space is a classic, and the way they use the slo motion and an epicly hood song like Still is hilarious. The idea of a bunch of guys dressed up like total office norms getting all ghetto on the office appliances that give them trouble daily is hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Office Space is such a great movie, I haven’t seen it in a long time. Thank you for posting about it! The combination of the scenes and songs are hilarious. They could also be seen as the rebels of the office life, so gangster rap would fit nicely with their actions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment