Bridgeless

The song that I have chosen to discuss is “Bridgeless” by Umphrey’s McGee. UM performs a wide variety of genres but are considered by many as a progressive rock jam band.

This song definitely falls under the progressive rock genre. It features a tempo and melody that seem to be constantly changing, moving forward in a way, hence the label “progressive” rock. From the soaring guitar solos to the head-banging breakdowns, there are new flavors always being sprinkled into the musical mixture. Umphrey’s McGee and this song in particular opened my eyes to the endless possibilities of what music can be. Before this song, I blindly listened to the radio and what my friends did, basically never forming an opinion of my own. One luck day after deciding to open up my mind a little, my girlfriend shared some of her music with me and those few bands changed me. I would say that was the first time I had ever heard real music but growing up I heard plenty, I just never stopped to actually listen. Now with an open mind and a new found passion for jams, I have realized that I personally lean towards either funk that makes you dance even if you don’t want to, or harder rock that blows your mind and melts your face. I wouldn’t say that I am a big fan of most metal, but I am excited to for my genre assignment on it because if you subtract the pig squealing, you are usually left with something very cool. Progressive rock speaks to me because there is nothing I love more than a meaty breakdown and a gnarly bass-line. If anyone has any cool bands to share I would love to give them a listen, so please let me know!

Leave a comment