Agree to disagree

I would have to disagree 100 percent with Anna Shoemaker’s song “You Oughta Know” by Alanis Morissette. I absolutely love pop which I know may or may not be many peoples top pick, but I don’t think this song sounded very pop like to me at all. It reminded me of a wanna be rocker chick. I have to admit that when I first played the song my roommate and I bursted out laughing and whole heartedly thought it was a joke song to throw the class off. Apparently she is rather popular. I just could not get into this song at all! For being a famous break up song a good handful of my friends I asked have never heard of it and also laughed really hard. I mean it’s not like her voice was amazing, and even the beat seemed off. I like how she is showing that she is so hurt and in pain by throwing in the lyric ” Would she go down on you in a theater”……

The way the song just starts off sounds so boring and blank. I would have to agree though that the lyrics were extremely straight forward and rather hilarious.  I feel like simon Cowell on American Idol (blank stares and basically asking myself what the heck I just watched/listened to).

2 thoughts on “Agree to disagree

  1. I agree! I don’t particularly like this song or Alanis Morrissette in general. Her voice is unenjoyable, her lyrics are lacking, and I really can’t get past the fact that she’s so angry, for what seems like no good reason. Watching this video, it really seemed like it could have been taken as a parody. She’s just not my cup of tea. Nice post!

    Like

  2. I also agreed to disagree about this song! At first I didn’t even hear the line “would she go down on you in a theater”, such a beautiful lyric, really portrays her pain (sarcasm). When I first played this song, I tried to see what was the big deal about it, but i could not help turning it off halfway through. Like the commentator above, I agree that the video could be perceived as a parody of all the angst in the 90s.

    Like

Leave a comment